Eta Devices

Who we are

Key people

The team behind Eta Devices brings unique entrepreneurial and research experience from the semiconductor field. 

Mattias Astrom
  • 15 years’ track record of bringing game-changing innovation to the mobile industry.
  • Serial entrepreneur with five technology CEO positions including C3 Technologies (3D mapping), Nordnav (software GPS) and Ilevo (powerline communications).
  • MBA (MIT Sloan) and M.Sc. (Stockholm School of Economics).

Prof. Joel L. Dawson
  • Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering (MIT).
  • Author of core patents relating to Eta Devices technology.
  • Co-founder, Aspendos Communications.
  • PhD in Electrical Engineering (Stanford) and SB and MEng degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (MIT).

Prof. David J. Perreault
  • Professor of Electrical Engineering (MIT).
  • 20 years’ experience in power conversion and switched-mode power amplifiers.
  • Author of more than 50 papers in refereed journals on power conversion and RF topics; holds 20 patents with numerous others pending.
  • PhD and SM in Electrical Engineering (MIT) and BSc in Electrical Engineering (Boston University).

Dr. Mark Briffa
Chief Architect/Founder
  • 20 years in R&D of linearized radio transmitter products.
  • Leader, power amplifier (PA) research at Huawei.
  • Lead PA researcher at Ericsson.
  • PhD in Electrical Engineering (Victoria University).

Dr. Gene Tkachenko
EVP Handset Development
  • 20 years in wireless industry.
  • Lead technology developer at Skyworks.
  • Proven track record of product and technology development supporting billions of RF components shipped into flagship mobile devices.
  • PhD in Electrical Engineering (Lehigh University), Greater Boston Executive Program (MIT).

Ray Stata
Chairman of the Board
  • Founder and Chairman of Analog Devices.
  • Founder of Stata Venture Partners.
  • Member of the Executive Committee of the MIT Corporation.
  • BSc and MSc degrees in Electrical Engineering (MIT).

Prof. Charles Sodini
Board Member
  • Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (MIT).
  • Fellow of the IEEE and former president of the IEEE Solid State Circuit Society.
  • PhD and MSc degrees in Electrical Engineering (University of California, Berkeley), BSc in Electrical Engineering and a BA in Sociology (Purdue University).

John Scarisbrick
Board Member
  • Veteran semiconductor executive. Served 25 years at Texas Instrument (TI) with roles including President Europe and SVP for TI’s 5 billion global chip business.
  • Formerly CEO of Cambridge Silicon Radio.
  • Board of ARM Holdings plc for 10 years until 2011.